School Psychologists

School Psychologists

Supervising School Psychologist

Mike Blanchard, PsyD
301-934-7331
mblanchard@ccboe.com

Deborah Respress
Secretary to Supervising School Psychologist
301-934-7331

What is a School Psychologist?

School Psychologists have specialized training in both psychology and education. They use their training and skills to team with educators, parents, and other mental health professionals to ensure that every child learns in a safe, healthy and supportive environment.

School psychologists understand school systems, effective teaching and successful learning. Today’s children face more challenges then ever before. School psychologists can provide solutions for tomorrow’s problems through thoughtful and positive actions today.

What training does a School Psychologist have?

The training requirements to become a school psychologist are a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours including a year-long internship. This training emphasizes preparation in mental health, child development, school organization, learning, behavior and motivation.

To work as a school psychologist, one must be certified and/or licensed by the state in which services are being provided. School psychologists may also be nationally certified by the National School Psychology Certification Board.

What do School Psychologists do?

Consultation

•Gives healthy and effective alternatives to teachers, parents, and administrators about problems in learning and behavior.
•Helps others understand child development and how it affects learning and behavior.
•Strengthens working relationships between educators, parents and community services.
•Works in close cooperation with mental health clinics, physicians, courts and other agencies capable of assisting schools with the problems of individual children.

Assessment

Uses a wide variety of techniques at an individual, group, and systems level to evaluate:
•Academic skills
•Learning aptitudes
•Personality and emotional development
•Social skills
•Adaptive skills
•Functional behavioral skills
•Learning environments and school climate
•Eligibility for Special Education

Intervention

  • Works directly with children and families.
  • Helps solve conflicts and problems in learning and adjustment.
  • Provides psychological counseling for children and families.
  • Provides social skills training, behavior management, and other strategies.
  • Helps families and schools deal with crises, such as separation and loss.
  • Provide suicide assessments, violence assessments, and depression screenings.

Prevention

  • Identifies potential learning difficulties.
  • Designs programs for children at risk for failure.
  • Provides parents and teachers with the skills to cope with disruptive behavior.
  • Helps foster tolerance, understanding and appreciation of diversity in the school community while helping to reduce incidents of bullying, harassment, and intimidation.
  • Helps develop school wide initiatives to make schools safer and more effective, as many school psychologists are Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports program coaches for their school buildings.

Education

  • Offers in-service training to teachers and community members on topics of interest based on school and/or community need, such as Attention Deficit Disorders, crisis intervention procedures, and behavior management/parenting support.
  • Holds membership on a number of school based support teams such as Student Support Teams and Special Education Individual Education Program teams.

Who are the School Psychologists in Charles County?

SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGISTS’ SCHOOL ASSIGNMENTS 2016–2017 SCHOOL YEAR

School Psychologist Email
Autism Jennifer Moore jmoore@ccboe.com
Barnhart Elementary
Berry Elementary
Audre’ Codrington acodrington@ccboe.com
Brown Elementary
Turner Elementary
Lauren Haith lhaith@ccboe.com
Craik Elementary
Davis Middle EA
Scott Brain sbrain@ccboe.com
Davis Middle Jaynie Van Sant avansant@ccboe.com
Diggs Elementary
Neal Elementary
Nicolle Steed nsteed@ccboe.com
Higdon Elementary
Piccowaxen Middle
Andrea Binetti abinetti@ccboe.com
Hanson Middle
Malcolm Elementary
Jennifer Weaver jweaver@ccboe.com
Henson Middle
Mt Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary
Krista Sandoval ksandoval@ccboe.com
Indian Head Elementary
Gale Bailey Elementary
Jasma John jjohn@ccboe.com
Jenifer Elementary
Ryon Elementary
Beila Lugo blugo@ccboe.com
Lackey High Latisha Blue lblue@ccboe.com
Lackey High EA Beverly Hoy bhoy@ccboe.com
La Plata High Matt Scott mscott@ccboe.com
Martin Elementary
Parks Elementary
Mary Ross-Gray mrossgray@ccboe.com
Mattawoman Middle and EA Molly Stackhouse mstackhouse@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary
Mitchell  Elementary
Catherine Bostwick cbostwick@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary EA
Westlake High EA
Brianna Scheuneman bscheuneman@ccboe.com
McDonough High Megan Phanthasy mphanthasy@ccboe.com
Mudd Elementary
Wade Elementary
Ryan Gallagher rgallagher@ccboe.com
Middleton Elementary
Somers Middle EA
Tiffany Ashe tashe@ccboe.com
Neal Elementary EA
STAY/Gwynn
Barbara Ferrenz bferrenz@ccboe.com
North Point High Leslie Eget leget@ccboe.com
North Point High EA Maryann Krayer mkrayer@ccboe.com
Smallwood Middle Latoya Brown lbrown@ccboe.com
Somers Middle Aaron McDaniel amcdaniel@ccboe.com
STAY/Gwynn Erin Cusmano ecusmano@ccboe.com
St. Charles High Tim Brown tbrown@ccboe.com
St Charles High EA Linda Marcoux lmarcoux@ccboe.com
Stethem Melinda Thomas mthomas@ccboe.com
Stoddert Middle Tamika Parker tparker@ccboe.com
Stone High Monica Moore mmoore@ccboe.com
Stone High EA G Scott Paterson gspaterson@ccboe.com
Westlake High Mary Ann Kennedy mkennedy@ccboe.com


Useful Resources:
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
Emotional Adjustment Program
Children & Depression
Managing Children’s Anxiety
Self Injury
Good Social Skills