School Psychologists

Supervising School Psychologist

Mike Blanchard, PsyD
301-934-7331
mblanchard@ccboe.com

Deborah Respress
Secretary to Supervising School Psychologist
301-934-7331

What is a School Psychologist?

School Psychologists have specialized training in both psychology and education. They use their training and skills to team with educators, parents, and other mental health professionals to ensure that every child learns in a safe, healthy and supportive environment.

School psychologists understand school systems, effective teaching and successful learning. Today’s children face more challenges then ever before. School psychologists can provide solutions for tomorrow’s problems through thoughtful and positive actions today.

What training does a School Psychologist have?

The training requirements to become a school psychologist are a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours including a year-long internship. This training emphasizes preparation in mental health, child development, school organization, learning, behavior and motivation.

To work as a school psychologist, one must be certified and/or licensed by the state in which services are being provided. School psychologists may also be nationally certified by the National School Psychology Certification Board.

What do School Psychologists do?

Consultation

•Gives healthy and effective alternatives to teachers, parents, and administrators about problems in learning and behavior.
•Helps others understand child development and how it affects learning and behavior.
•Strengthens working relationships between educators, parents and community services.
•Works in close cooperation with mental health clinics, physicians, courts and other agencies capable of assisting schools with the problems of individual children.

Assessment

Uses a wide variety of techniques at an individual, group, and systems level to evaluate:
•Academic skills
•Learning aptitudes
•Personality and emotional development
•Social skills
•Adaptive skills
•Functional behavioral skills
•Learning environments and school climate
•Eligibility for Special Education

Intervention

  • Works directly with children and families.
  • Helps solve conflicts and problems in learning and adjustment.
  • Provides psychological counseling for children and families.
  • Provides social skills training, behavior management, and other strategies.
  • Helps families and schools deal with crises, such as separation and loss.
  • Provide suicide assessments, violence assessments, and depression screenings.

Prevention

  • Identifies potential learning difficulties.
  • Designs programs for children at risk for failure.
  • Provides parents and teachers with the skills to cope with disruptive behavior.
  • Helps foster tolerance, understanding and appreciation of diversity in the school community while helping to reduce incidents of bullying, harassment, and intimidation.
  • Helps develop school wide initiatives to make schools safer and more effective, as many school psychologists are Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports program coaches for their school buildings.

Education

  • Offers in-service training to teachers and community members on topics of interest based on school and/or community need, such as Attention Deficit Disorders, crisis intervention procedures, and behavior management/parenting support.
  • Holds membership on a number of school based support teams such as Student Support Teams and Special Education Individual Education Program teams.

SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGISTS’ SCHOOL ASSIGNMENTS 2017–2018 SCHOOL YEAR

School Psychologist Email
Barnhart Elementary
Brown Elementary
Lauren Haith lhaith@ccboe.com
Diggs Elementary
Turner Elementary
Amber Mason aemason@ccboe.com
Craik Elementary
Malcolm Elementary
Jasma John jjohn@ccboe.com
Davis Middle Nicolle Steed nsteed@ccboe.com
Davis Middle EA
Mattawoman Middle EA
Scott Brain sbrain@ccboe.com
Gale-Bailey Elementary Leslie Eget
Maryann Krayer
leget@ccboe.com
mkrayer@ccboe.com
Higdon Elementary
Piccowaxen Middle
Andrea Binetti abinetti@ccboe.com
Hanson Middle Latoya Brown lbrown@ccboe.com
Henson Middle Shideka Mullings smullings@ccboe.com
Indian Head Elementary
Berry Elementary
Mackenzie Olson molson@ccboe.com
Jenifer Elementary
Neal Elementary
Krista Sandoval ksandoval@ccboe.com
Lackey High Latisha Blue lblue@ccboe.com
Lackey High EA
Mt Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary
Beverly Hoy bhoy@ccboe.com
La Plata High Beila Lugo blugo@ccboe.com
Martin Elementary
Mudd Elementary
Jaynie Van Sant avansant@ccboe.com
Mattawoman Middle Molly Stackhouse mstackhouse@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary
Mitchell  Elementary
Catherine Bostwick cbostwick@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary EA
Neal Elementary EA
Jennifer Grabosky jgrabosky@ccboe.com
McDonough High Megan Phanthasy mphanthasy@ccboe.com
Middleton Elementary Leslie Eget leget@ccboe.com
North Point High Mary Ann Kennedy mkennedy@ccboe.com
North Point High EA Maryann Krayer mkrayer@ccboe.com
Parks Elementary Jennifer Weaver jweaver@ccboe.com
Ryon Elementary Audre’ Codrington-Bailey acodrington@ccboe.com
Smallwood Middle Ryan Gallagher rgallagher@ccboe.com
Somers Middle Alisa Williams aawilliams@ccboe.com
Somers Middle EA Scott Paterson gspaterson@ccboe.com
STAY/Gwynn Erin Cusmano ecusmano@ccboe.com
St. Charles High Akira Ali aali@ccboe.com
St Charles High EA Tiffany Ashe tashe@ccboe.com
Stethem Tara Benn tbenn@ccboe.com
Stoddert Middle Tamika Parker tparker@ccboe.com
Stone High Monica Moore mmoore@ccboe.com
Stone High EA Aaron McDaniel amcdaniel@ccboe.com
Wade Elementary Barbara Staebler bstaebler@ccboe.com
Westlake High Matt Scott mscott@ccboe.com


Useful Resources:
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
Emotional Adjustment Program
Children & Depression
Managing Children’s Anxiety
Self Injury
Good Social Skills