Skip To Main Content

Member Profiles

Mike Lukas

Michael Lukas, Chairperson

Michael Lukas is a retired engineer and branch manager for the Department of the Navy.  Born in Washington D.C., and moving to Maryland when he was seven, Mr. Lukas proudly calls himself a Marylander and attended Prince George’s Community College, and the University of Maryland, College Park where he earned a degree in electrical engineering. He completed graduate studies in systems engineering at George Mason University and the Naval Post Graduate School. Mr. Lukas has volunteered with the Greater Waldorf Jaycees where he served as the community vice president. He enjoys playing and coaching soccer and has volunteered with the Boy Scouts where he was an assistant Scoutmaster. He has lived in Charles County for 25 years with his wife, Kim, who is a teacher at the College of Southern Maryland and their son who is a 2016 CCPS graduate. Mr. Lukas was first elected to the Board in 2010 and is serving in his third term.

Latina Wilson


Latina L. Wilson, Vice Chairperson 

Latina Wilson is a Gulf War veteran who retired from the U.S. Army after serving for 20 years. She is active in the community and serves as president of the Port Tobacco River Conservancy, president of the Southern Maryland Alumni Chapter for the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore, a member of the McConchie One-room School House committee and a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. She also served many years as the education liaison for the Charles County Branch of the NAACP. Ms. Wilson earned her bachelor of science in business from the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore. Ms. Wilson is serving her first term as a Board of Education Member.

Jennifer Abell

Jennifer S. Abell

Jennifer S. Abell is the director of finance and operations for the Maryland Crime Victims’ Resource Center, Inc. She previously held the position of senior development manager for the March of Dimes Greater Washington, D.C., market. Ms. Abell is a longtime resident of Charles County. She is a member of New Life Wesleyan Church, Charles County Chamber of Commerce, Partnerships for a Healthier Charles County and the Fetal Infant Mortality Review Board. She has volunteered and held leadership positions with many local organizations, including Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts of the United States of America, Kiwanis International, Parent Teacher Association, Indian Head Swim Team and the Center for Abused Persons. Ms. Abell received her undergraduate degree at the College of Southern Maryland, lives in La Plata and has four children, all whom graduated from Charles County Public Schools.

Tajala Battle-Lockhart

Tajala Battle-Lockhart 

Tajala Battle-Lockhart is the chief executive officer of Simply Consulting, LLC and a certified hospitality educator. A resident of White Plains, Ms. Battle-Lockhart is the executive director of Phenomenal Young Women, a board member for the Arnold House and a member of Real Women of Charles County. Ms. Battle-Lockhart earned her associate of science in Hotel and Restaurant Management from Wake Technical Community College. Ms. Battle-Lockhart is serving her first term as a Board of Education Member.

Elizabeth Brown

Elizabeth C. Brown 

Elizabeth C. Brown is a retired Charles County Public Schools pupil personnel worker who also served as a classroom teacher and for five years as president of the Education Association of Charles County. She earned her bachelor of science from the District of Columbia Teachers’ College and also obtained certification in Student Services. Ms. Brown is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, the Charles County Branch of the NAACP, the College of Southern Maryland Advisory Committee, the Charles County Citizens Advisory Committee and the Charles County African-American Heritage Society. She also is president of the CCPS Retired School Personnel Association, the chair of the Maryland State Education Association (MSEA) nominations and credentials committee, and a crisis committee member of the association. A resident of Waldorf, Ms. Brown is the mother of two and grandmother of four children. Ms. Brown is serving her first term as a Board of Education Member.

David Hancock

David Hancock 

David Hancock is a small business owner and manages Hancock Family Farms in La Plata. He is a past president and current board member of the Charles County Farm Bureau, 2016 Young Farmer of the Year, board member of the Eastern Virginia Feeder Calf Association and a board member of the University of Maryland Extension Advisory Board. Mr. Hancock is a 2008 graduate of the UA Mechanical Trade School through Montgomery College and a 2002 graduate of La Plata High School. He lives in Charles County with his wife, Kim, and their three children. Mr. Hancock is serving his first term as a Board of Education Member.

Virginia McGraw

Virginia R. McGraw

Virginia R. McGraw is a retired Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) principal who also served as a teacher and vice principal during her 25-year career with CCPS. She was the 2009 CCPS Principal of the Year, and volunteers with Our Lady Help of Christians Catholic Church.  She is an elected member of the board of directors of the Maryland Association of School Boards.  She is also a member of the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association, the Education Association of Charles County and the Maryland State Education Association. She earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary special education and her master’s in special education. Mrs. McGraw and her husband have been residents of Charles County for 43 years.

Maria Navarro

Maria V. Navarro, Ed.D., Superintendent of Charles County Public Schools

Maria V. Navarro, Ed.D., is a veteran educator who has served in various teaching and leadership roles in Maryland, Delaware and Washington, D.C.  Prior to working for CCPS, Navarro was an education consultant working to support school systems and government agencies to improve learning opportunities for young people. Dr. Navarro was the chief academic officer for Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) in Maryland for six years and was the acting Chief Academic Officer in Baltimore City Public Schools (BCPS) for five years. Prior to joining Baltimore City schools, Navarro worked as a senior-level administrator for the Christina School District in Delaware and as a teacher and administrator for the Cesar Chavez Public Charter High School in Washington, D.C. Navarro holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Delaware, a master’s degree in science education from Temple University and a doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy from The George Washington University. Navarro is bilingual and speaks Spanish and English, and has intermediate proficiency in French and Portuguese. 

amira abujuma



Amira Abujuma, Student Member  

Amira Abujuma is a senior who attends North Point High School. Ms. Abujuma has continuously prioritized student leadership. She currently serves as service coordinator for the Maryland Association of Student Councils where she is tasked with the planning and organization of community service projects. At the school level, Ms. Abujuma is a member of numerous organizations and serves as the National Technical Honor Society Vice President, as well as the Public Relations officer for the National Honor Society. Aside from student council, Ms. Abujuma finds enjoyment in activities including painting, reading, and playing the piano. During her term, she hopes to leave a positive mark on Charles County Public Schools and aims to inspire others to serve their community.