Skip To Main Content
CCPS holds winter chess tournament  

Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) held its annual winter chess tournament Feb. 10 at Henry E. Lackey High School.

There were 165 students competing in the tournament which was under the direction of Felix Cummings. Students in kindergarten through 12th grade take part in the event with each participant receiving a certificate and medal for taking part in the tournament. Each division had a top scorer — or champion.

The following students earned the champion award for their respective grade-level division.

  • Maia Rivera, kindergarten, Dr. James Craik Elementary School.
  • Shivam Nayak, first grade, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School.
  • Alexander Trout, second grade, William B. Wade Elementary School.
  • Janiefher Grace Silva, third grade, Indian Head Elementary School.
  • Alex Butson, fourth grade, Malcolm Elementary School.
  • David Trout, fifth grade, Wade.
  • Carlos Borders, sixth grade, Theodore G. Davis Middle School.
  • Lionel Saravia, seventh grade, Mattawoman Middle School.
  • Riley Kim, eighth grade, Mattawoman.
  • Jonathan Fitzhugh, freshman, North Point High School.
  • Mason Truesdell, sophomore, Maurice J. McDonough High School.
  • Alfred Johann “A.J.” Cruz, junior, Westlake High School.
  • Jason Evans, senior, Thomas Stone High School.

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,765 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 38 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial M. Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

CCPS provides nondiscriminatory equal access to school facilities in accordance with its Use of Facilities rules to designated youth groups (including, but not limited to, the Boy Scouts).