Skip To Main Content
Maryland Retired School Personnel Association offers mini grants for classroom teachers

Classroom teachers can apply for one of six mini grants offered by the Maryland Retired School Personnel Association (MRSPA). The mini grants — awarding up to $300 per teacher — may be used on special projects or activities that are not funded through the school system, PTA or PTSO.

Last school year, Emily Leedy, a teacher at Malcolm Elementary School, was awarded a mini grant from MRSPA that she used to fund a pen pal program between Malcolm students and their peers in another Maryland school system. The award helped pay for postage and stationery.

Mini grant applications are due by Nov. 1 with winners notified in January. The funds will be sent directly to the teacher at their school for use during this school year. To learn more about the program, visit To obtain an application, click here. Completed applications can be emailed to by Nov. 1.

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,000 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 37 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial M. Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

CCPS provides nondiscriminatory equal access to school facilities in accordance with its Use of Facilities rules to designated youth groups (including, but not limited to, the Boy Scouts).