Skip To Main Content
Students can attend the Maryland STEM Festival

Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students can attend the Maryland Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Festival held Oct. 13-Nov. 13 in various locations in Maryland with virtual and in-person events. This afternoon, watch the virtual interview with author Dr. Cori Lathan at 4 p.m. as she discusses her new book, "Inventing the Future."

The festival will also hold an opening ceremony tonight at 7 p.m. with Sean Lyngaas, cybersecurity reporter for CNN. Various topics and events will be covered during the festival. Some will include:

  • STEM Parade in Baker Park.
  • STEM Professionals in Middle Schools.
  • STEM Theme Comedy Show.
  • Cybersecurity Career Panel Discussions.
  • Capture the Flag/Cybersecurity Competition.
  • Authors Cori Lathan, Jennifer Swanson and Katey Howe.
  • Cybersecurity Family Feud & Trivia Contest.

To learn more visit,

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,000 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 37 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial M. Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

CCPS provides nondiscriminatory equal access to school facilities in accordance with its Use of Facilities rules to designated youth groups (including, but not limited to, the Boy Scouts).