Board approves elementary redistricting plan

Board approves elementary redistricting plan

The Board of Education on June 13 unanimously approved Superintendent Kimberly Hill’s recommendation to adopt elementary school redistricting Plan A without modifications.

The recommendation moves approximately 2,221 elementary school students. All elementary schools, with the exception of Gale-Bailey, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon, Indian Head, Malcolm, T.C. Martin and Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy elementary schools, are impacted in some way by the redistricting.

Proposal A establishes an attendance zone for Billingsley Elementary School, which opens in September 2018, and an expanded zone for Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School. CCPS is starting a complete renovation and expansion of Mudd this summer. Redistricting also relieves overcrowding at most elementary schools. Several elementary schools remain over state-rated capacity; however, kindergarten additions at Mary H. Matula, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer and upcoming kindergarten additions at Dr. James Craik and Berry elementary schools will increase the state-rated capacity at these schools.

The Board’s vote finalized the yearlong redistricting process and provides for more than a year’s notice before it takes effect in September 2018 to coincide with the opening of Billingsley. The new school will open with a projected enrollment of 637, leaving room for growth. Billingsley is located off Billingsley Road in White Plains and has a state rated capacity of 758 students. Hill announced on June 13 that Sabrina Robinson-Taylor, principal at Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, will be the first principal at Billingsley.

For a complete overview of redistricting, fact sheets, presentations and other information, visit

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.


The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Keith Hettel, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,746 other subscribers