Employees honored for commitment to school system

Employees honored for commitment to school system

The Board of Education and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kimberly Hill on Thursday, March 30 honored several Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) employees for their years of service to the school system and commitment to education during a ceremony held at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building. Honored were those employees who have contributed to the school system with careers that total 45, 40, 35, 30 and 25 years.

Kerry DeFraia, a library media specialist at Eva Turner Elementary School, was honored for 45 years of service to the school system. She began her career at Pomonkey Elementary School and has remained at the elementary school level throughout her career. DeFraia has also held positions at Port Tobacco and Dr. James Craik elementary schools.

Three employees were recognized for 40 years of service. They are Deborah Brown, principal of Mary B. Neal Elementary School, Louis Cate, a vocal music teacher at Arthur Middleton Elementary School, and Janis Milman, a science teacher at Thomas Stone High School.

Brown began her career with CCPS as a first-grade teacher at Middleton. She later pursued a career in administration and was a vice principal at Indian Head, Dr. Gustavus Brown and Eva Turner elementary schools. She was appointed as principal at Neal in 2015. Cate started his career as a vocal music teacher at Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School and also taught at Gale-Bailey Elementary School. He has worked at Middleton for the majority of his career. Milman began her career at Milton M. Somers Middle School and has been teaching at Stone since 1980.

In addition to those honored for 45 and 40 years of service, the Board and Dr. Hill honored 44 employees with 35, 30 and 25 years of service. They are:

Employees with 35 years of service

  • John Frederick, special education instructional assistant, Life Skills program, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Barbara Linsmeier, mathematics teacher, Stone;
  • Susan McCormick, principal, John Hanson Middle School;
  • Joan Simms, Reading Recovery teacher, William B. Wade Elementary School; and
  • Joan Withers, acting director of secondary education, Starkey.

Employees with 30 years of service

  • Mary Bailey, Reading Recovery teacher, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School;
  • Linda Bieber, kindergarten teacher, Malcolm Elementary School;
  • Laurence Budd, foreman – operations center group, CCPS maintenance shop;
  • James Campbell, social studies teacher, North Point High School;
  • Cellinna Childers, kindergarten teacher, William A. Diggs Elementary School;
  • Sandra Fair, art teacher, North Point;
  • Ronald Fenwick, building service manager, Matthew Henson Middle School;
  • Helen Garvey, kindergarten teacher, Indian Head;
  • Sheila Kelly, building service worker, J.C. Parks Elementary School;
  • Arnold Mason Sr., building service manager, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • Jane Murphy, food service manager, Higdon;
  • Joseph Perriello, learning resource teacher, Wade;
  • John Proctor, maintenance worker, CCPS maintenance shop;
  • Evan Sine, physical education teacher, Turner;
  • Gail Slaughter, food service manager, Henry E. Lackey High School;
  • Kara Small, reading resource teacher, Parks;
  • Marta Starkey-Mister, speech therapist, F.B. Gwynn Educational Center;
  • Ronnie Swailes, building service manager, General Smallwood Middle School; and
  • James Swann, building service manager, La Plata High School.

Employees with 25 years of service

  • Lauren Ball, social studies teacher, North Point;
  • Timothy Bodamer, specialist in fine and performing arts, Starkey;
  • Evelyn Bracey, secretary to the principal, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School;
  • Ellen Carlsen, special education teacher, Indian Head;
  • Thomas Clements Jr., social studies teacher, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
  • David Craig, physical education teacher, Smallwood;
  • Hattie Cummings, fourth-grade teacher, Indian Head;
  • Kathryn Edman, library media specialist, North Point;
  • Anita Grimes, special education instructional assistant, Life Skills program, Berry Elementary School;
  • Junius Hanley Jr., vice principal, Mattawoman Middle School;
  • Stephanie Hill, third-grade teacher, Parks;
  • Robert Holtz, building service worker, Westlake High School;
  • Jill Matthews, mathematics teacher, Piccowaxen Middle School;
  • Dana Moyer, learning resource teacher, Craik;
  • Emily Sasscer, science teacher, Hanson;
  • Patricia Stokes, special education teacher, Diggs;
  • Gina Tallon, mathematics teacher, Westlake;
  • Patricia Vaira, Ph.D., director of student services, Starkey;
  • Michelle Weschler, special education teacher, Berry; and
  • Jaime Wright, physical education teacher, Indian Head.

The Board and Superintendent honor employees for years of service in an annual ceremony.

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other subscribers