Hill recommends redistricting proposal A

Hill recommends redistricting proposal A

Superintendent Kimberly A. Hill presented her elementary school redistricting recommendation to the Board of Education on May 9, suggesting Proposal A with no modifications.

In a presentation to the Board, Michael Heim, assistant superintendent of supporting services, said the recommendation takes into account public and written testimony and the fact Proposal A impacts fewer students while still accomplishing redistricting goals. Proposal A establishes an attendance zone for Billingsley Elementary School, which opens in September 2018, and an expanded zone for Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School. CCPS is starting a complete renovation and expansion of Mudd starting in June.

The recommendation moves approximately 2,221 elementary school students. All elementary schools, with the exception of Gale-Bailey, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon, Indian Head, Malcolm, T.C. Martin and Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy elementary schools, are impacted in some way by the redistricting. Heim said several schools remain over state-rated capacity; however, kindergarten additions at Mary H. Matula, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer and upcoming kindergarten additions at Dr. James Craik and Berry elementary schools will increase the state-rated capacity at these schools.

The elementary school redistricting takes effect in September 2018 to coincide with the opening of Billingsley.

The Board will accept comment on the Superintendent’s proposal at a public hearing, 6:30-9 p.m., May 22, at Westlake High School. The Board will make its final decision regarding the elementary school redistricting at its June 13 meeting.

Residents may also mail or email comments. Email comments to redistrict@ccboe.com or mail to Redistricting, Charles County Public Schools, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646. The deadline to submit comments is June 1.

For a complete overview of redistricting, fact sheets, presentations and other information, visit http://www.ccboe.com/redistricting/.

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,700 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela Murphy, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,746 other subscribers