SECAC holds annual staff appreciation awards

SECAC holds annual staff appreciation awards

Educators were honored at the Charles County Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee’s 12th annual staff appreciation awards May 10. Parents and guardians nominated the teachers and teams who make a difference in the lives of children with special needs. More than 80 educators were recognized, with 13 people winning their respective categories.

Several parents and guardians spoke about the dedication their child’s teachers have shown.

“They show compassion and love to each student,” Jenna Cusack said of the team who works with her daughter, Lillian, at Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School. “Having a nonverbal child is hard as a parent. You have to trust they are safe and in the best possible hands,” Cusack said. “I thank God every day [the team is] in our lives.”

Ethel Levy spoke about how important Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School teacher Kristina Pagel is to her son. “She never gives up on Jack and she never lets him give up on himself,” Levy said. “She gives him the tools and confidence he needs not only to succeed in school, but to succeed in life.”

The following educators won their categories at the awards ceremony:

  • Michael Hicks, Piccowaxen Middle School — support staff;
  • Joanne Brown, F.B. Gwynn Educational Center — related services staff;
  • Kristina Pagel, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School — elementary instructional;
  • Kimberly McCloskey, Heather Lombardi, Jennifer Foster and Pamela Riffle, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School — elementary team;
  • David Mitchell, North Point High School — secondary instructional (high school);
  • Stacey Bennett, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School — secondary instructional (middle school);
  • Antonio Lumpkin and Delphine Owens, Maurice J. McDonough High School — secondary team (high school); and
  • Steve Willett and William Root, Milton M. Somers Middle School — secondary team (middle school).

For more information about the Charles County Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee (SECAC), visit or contact the Parent Center at 301-934-7456 or

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela K. Murphy, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event. 


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,229 other subscribers