Student leaders selected for coming school year

Student leaders selected for coming school year

Student members of the Charles County Association of Student Councils (CCASC) selected new officers for the 2014-15 school year at their May 1 meeting.

Representing the CCASC next school year are:

  • Gabriel Huffman, junior, president, North Point High School;
  • Ashley Marshall, junior, vice president, Westlake High School;
  • Joseph Perriello, freshman, second vice president, North Point;
  • Kiara Williams, sophomore, secretary, Westlake;
  • Stephanie Patterson, junior, charity coordinator, Westlake; and
  • Diamond Zetty, sixth grader, middle school representative, John Hanson Middle School.

Each year, the CCASC officers are elected by student delegates in the spring. Schools develop their own methods for selecting CCASC student delegates. Each high school sends 15 delegates to monthly meetings; middle schools send up to 10 delegates.

The 2014-15 student member to the Board of Education will be selected and announced next week. The Student Board Member works with a committee of student liaisons, one student from each high school, throughout the school year. The student liaisons for the 2014-15 school year will be selected and announced later this month.

Each high school is required to have a student liaison, which is selected by methods approved by the school’s student government association (SGA) and principal. Liaisons can apply as a candidate for the upcoming position of Student Board Member. Candidates are required to submit an essay regarding a student concern and possible solution. A committee composed of school system staff selects the student to work with the Board.

The CCASC is an organization consisting of student leaders from the county’s six high schools and eight middle schools. These students meet throughout the year to discuss issues and concerns, as well as provide input to school system leaders on programs and policies.

Charles County Public Schools provides 26,400 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 35 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Dr. Patricia Vaira, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Pamela Murphy, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, central office building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other subscribers