Students honored as Ruth Ann Hall Award recipients

Students honored as Ruth Ann Hall Award recipients

Seventeen Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) students were honored May 14 with Ruth Ann Hall Champion Scholar Awards. The Board of Education and the Education Association of Charles County (EACC) presented the awards to the students at the Board of Education meeting.

The awards program is for students at the middle-school level and recognizes honorees for a commitment to academics, classroom improvement and modeling positive behavior. School administrators and teachers nominate students for the awards program.

The following students were honored.

  • Deonta Greer, sixth grade, Theodore G. Davis Middle School;
  • Nicholas Fink-Mellerson, seventh grade, Davis;
  • Jaylen Chisley, eighth grade, Davis;
  • Mauricio Flores-Soto, sixth grade, John Hanson Middle School;
  • Naydelin Lemus-Mendez, seventh grade, Hanson;
  • Diamond Venson, eighth grade, Hanson;
  • Chinemerem Nwigwe, sixth grade, Matthew Henson Middle School;
  • Charlene Carlos, seventh grade, Henson;
  • Cornelius Dukes, eighth grade, Henson;
  • Nayeli Lovo Guevara, eighth grade, Mattawoman Middle School;
  • Edwin Urias Santa Maria, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Axe Velasquez Martinez, eighth grade, Mattawoman;
  • Samantha Best, seventh grade, Milton M. Somers Middle School;
  • Ky’Mari Bowman, sixth grade, General Smallwood Middle School;
  • Christopher Pikolycky, eighth grade, Smallwood;
  • Devontae Russell, sixth grade, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School; and
  • Jamiya Price, eighth grade, Stoddert.

The award winners are chosen by an EACC committee from a pool of student nominees. The award was established by the EACC as a memorial to Ruth Ann Hall, who had a 20-year career as a teacher in Charles County.

Hall is a former EACC president and received the Washington Post’s Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year award in 1986. During her career with CCPS, Hall taught at Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer and Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy elementary schools, and at Mattawoman Middle School.

The award recognizes middle school students in recognition of Hall’s last teaching assignment at the middle-school level. Honorees receive a certificate of recognition and gift card for use at a local bookstore. 

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,108 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 36 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,476 other subscribers