Computer Skills
S. Chisholm This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

The Computer Technology Classes are moving into full gear and will be studying the six major standards: Technology Systems, Digital Citizenship, Technology for Learning and Collaboration, Technology for Communication and Expression, Technology for Information Use and Management, and Technology for Problem-Solving and Decision-Making.

Technology literacy is the ability of an individual, working independently and with others, to responsibly, appropriately and effectively use technology tools to access, manage, integrate, evaluate, create and communicate information.

Maryland Technology Literacy Standards for Students are important objectives.

The standards are:
Standard 1.0
Technology Systems: Develop foundations in the understanding and uses of technology systems; Develop professional practices that support continual learning and professional growth in technology

Standard 2.0
Digital Citizenship: Demonstrate an understanding of the history of technology and its impact on society, and practice ethical, legal, and responsible use of technology to assure safety

Standard 3.0
Technology for Learning and Collaboration: Use a variety of technologies for learning and collaboration

Standard 4.0
Technology for Communication and Expression: Use technology to communicate information and express ideas using various media formats

Standard 5.0
Technology for Information Use and Management: Use technology to locate, evaluate, gather, and organize information and data.

Standard 6.0
Technology for Problem-Solving and Decision-Making: Demonstrate ability to use technology and develop strategies to solve problems and make informed decisions. Using these standards the state was able to create the Technology Assessment that will given this December.