Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc.

The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to Charles County high school seniors. The following county groups – the Charles County Commissioners, Charles County Public Schools, the College of Southern Maryland and the Chamber of Commerce – are always represented on the Scholarship Fund Board. All other members of the Board are selected from the community at large.

How To Apply

  • NEW electronic online application. The application is now closed.
  • PLEASE NOTE: Application progress can not be saved. Please ensure you have all required documents ready to upload to the application prior to starting to complete the form.
  • All scholarship applications must be completed and submitted by March 1, 2018
  • Late applications will not be accepted
  • Seniors should see their counselor or the College and Career Advisor with questions/concerns

Below are the scholarships available for Charles County students:

Each scholarship has specific eligibility criteria.

Ashley Jayne Younger Memorial* $500
Charles County Chamber of Commerce, College of Southern Maryland* $500
Charles County Health Department and School Nurses $250
Charles County Retired School Personnel Association (seven awards)* $1,000
Charles County Teacher Education Assistance Grant $1,000 (renewable)
Darren A. Bowie Scholarship $1,000
Edward Rorer Memorial $500
Eric Sawchak Memorial $1,000
Grote Memorial $500
Harding Memorial Future Educator $1,000
Jeremiah and Elijah Borgnis Memorial $500
John H. Cox Memorial $1,000
John Howie Memorial (two awards)* $500
Katherine D. Racey Memorial $1,500
Ken Stump Memorial $500
Kenneth Bernard Proctor Sr.* $500
Kiwanis Club of Charles County Ronald G. Cunningham $500
La Plata Garden Club $1,000
Lisa Michele Duckett* $1,000
Lizbeth Frazer-Fatig Helping Hand* $4,000
Mary Matula $500
Michael J. Anderson Memorial $1,000
Michael S. Tayman Memorial $1,000
Michael S. Tayman Music $1,000
Michael S. Tayman Nursing $1,000
Mildred Rice O’Callaghan Memorial (two awards)* $500
Nicole Pitonyak Memorial $1,000
Patricia Sugg Weiers Memorial $250
Professor V. Phillips Weaver $1,000
Rachel Snyder Trade School $500
Richard J. Abela $2,000
Robert Dean Stethem – National Memorial* $1,000
Robert Dean Stethem – Thomas Stone* $1,000
Ronald G. Cunningham (seven awards) $2,500
Ronald G. Cunningham Nursing* $500
Starkey Memorial* $500
Stephen E. Mitchell Educational* $500
Thomas B.R. Mudd Nurse, College of Southern Maryland* Full 2 years, CSM
Thomas B.R. Mudd Teacher, College of Southern Maryland* Full 2 years, CSM
Thomas Kurtz Memorial $1,000
Thomas W. Weirich Scholar-Athlete Award $1,000
Timothy Minor Criminal Justice $500
Timothy Minor Memorial $500
Tiny Hopes (three awards)* $1,000
Unnae Pak Borgnis Memorial $500
Warren J. Luke and Betty F. Luke Memorial 4 year school (seven awards) $5,000
Warren J. Luke and Betty F. Luke Memorial 2 year school (14 awards) $2,500
William and Vivian King (seven awards) $1,000
Zonta of Charles County (two awards) $1,000

*denotes a merit and financial need scholarship
updated December 2017

Contact Information

Alicia A. Jones
Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc.
5980 Radio Station Road
P.O. Box 2770
La Plata, Maryland 20646

Phone: 301-934-7334
Fax: 301-392-7511