School Psychologists

Supervising School Psychologist

Mike Blanchard, PsyD
301-934-7331
mblanchard@ccboe.com

Deborah Respress
Secretary to Supervising School Psychologist
301-934-7331

What is a School Psychologist?

School Psychologists have specialized training in both psychology and education. They use their training and skills to team with educators, parents, and other mental health professionals to ensure that every child learns in a safe, healthy and supportive environment.

School psychologists understand school systems, effective teaching and successful learning. Today’s children face more challenges then ever before. School psychologists can provide solutions for tomorrow’s problems through thoughtful and positive actions today.

What training does a School Psychologist have?

The training requirements to become a school psychologist are a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours including a year-long internship. This training emphasizes preparation in mental health, child development, school organization, learning, behavior and motivation.

To work as a school psychologist, one must be certified and/or licensed by the state in which services are being provided. School psychologists may also be nationally certified by the National School Psychology Certification Board.

What do School Psychologists do?

Consultation

•Gives healthy and effective alternatives to teachers, parents, and administrators about problems in learning and behavior.
•Helps others understand child development and how it affects learning and behavior.
•Strengthens working relationships between educators, parents and community services.
•Works in close cooperation with mental health clinics, physicians, courts and other agencies capable of assisting schools with the problems of individual children.

Assessment

Uses a wide variety of techniques at an individual, group, and systems level to evaluate:
•Academic skills
•Learning aptitudes
•Personality and emotional development
•Social skills
•Adaptive skills
•Functional behavioral skills
•Learning environments and school climate
•Eligibility for Special Education

Intervention

  • Works directly with children and families.
  • Helps solve conflicts and problems in learning and adjustment.
  • Provides psychological counseling for children and families.
  • Provides social skills training, behavior management, and other strategies.
  • Helps families and schools deal with crises, such as separation and loss.
  • Provide suicide assessments, violence assessments, and depression screenings.

Prevention

  • Identifies potential learning difficulties.
  • Designs programs for children at risk for failure.
  • Provides parents and teachers with the skills to cope with disruptive behavior.
  • Helps foster tolerance, understanding and appreciation of diversity in the school community while helping to reduce incidents of bullying, harassment, and intimidation.
  • Helps develop school wide initiatives to make schools safer and more effective, as many school psychologists are Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports program coaches for their school buildings.

Education

  • Offers in-service training to teachers and community members on topics of interest based on school and/or community need, such as Attention Deficit Disorders, crisis intervention procedures, and behavior management/parenting support.
  • Holds membership on a number of school based support teams such as Student Support Teams and Special Education Individual Education Program teams.

SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGISTS’ SCHOOL ASSIGNMENTS 2020–21 SCHOOL YEAR

School Psychologist Email
Barnhart Elementary Scott Brain sbrain@ccboe.com
Berry Elementary Leisa Williams lawilliams@ccboe.com
Billingsley Elementary Audre Codrington-Bailey acodrington@ccboe.com
Brown Elementary 504 Resource Shomara Reyes sreyes@ccboe.com 
Craik Elementary April Allen aallen@ccboe.com
Diggs Elementary Lauren Haith lhaith@ccboe.com
Fresh Start Academy April Allen aallen@ccboe.com
Gale-Bailey Elementary Jason Anson janson@ccboe.com
Higdon Elementary Scott Paterson gspaterson@ccboe.com
Indian Head Elementary Matthew Scott mscott@ccboe.com
Jenifer Elementary Evelyn Zalasar ezalasar@ccboe.com
Malcolm Elementary Jennifer Weaver jweaver@ccboe.com
Martin Elementary Jennifer Weaver jweaver@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary Aleksa Putnam aputnam@ccboe.com
Matula Elementary EA Jennifer Grabosky jgrabosky@ccboe.com
Middleton Elementary Cathy Bostwick cbostwick@ccboe.com
Mitchell Elementary Molly Stackhouse mstackhouse@ccboe.com
Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary Jason Anson janson@ccboe.com
Mudd Elementary Nikkia Williams newilliams@ccboe.com
Neal Elementary Krista Sandoval ksandoval@ccboe.com
Neal EA Jennifer Grabosky jgrabosky@ccboe.com
Parks Elementary Ashley Dunlap adunlap@ccboe.com
Ryon Elementary Shideka Mullings smullings@ccboe.com
Turner Elementary Cathy Bostwick cbostwick@ccboe.com
Wade Elementary Sydney Williams snwilliams@ccboe.com
Davis Middle Nicolle Steed nsteed@ccboe.com
Davis Middle EA Akira Ali aali@ccboe.com
Hanson Middle Latoya Reid lreid@ccboe.com
Henson Middle Amber Mason aemason@ccboe.com
Mattawoman Middle Deidra Sorrell dsorrell@ccboe.com
Piccowaxen Middle Scott Paterson gspaterson@ccboe.com
Smallwood Middle Ebony Mason emason@ccboe.com
Somers Middle Theodora Jackson thjackson@ccboe.com
Somers Middle EA Arielle Elder aelder@ccboe.com
Stoddert Middle Aisha Smith aasmith@ccboe.com
Lackey High Beverly Hoy bhoy@ccboe.com
Lackey High EA Julia Hardemann-Tsadick
La Plata Megan Phanthasy mphanthasy@ccboe.com
McDonough High Nicole Williams newilliams@ccboe.com
McDonough High Julia Hardemann-Tsadick jhardemantsadick@ccboe.com
North Point High Mary Ann Kennedy mkennedy@ccboe.com
North Point High EA Maryann Krayer mkrayer@ccboe.com
St. Charles High Zondra Johnson zjohnson@ccboe.com
St. Charles High EA Tiffany Ashe tashe@ccboe.com
Stone High Monica Moore mmoore@ccboe.com
Stone High EA Aaron McDaniel amcdaniel@ccboe.com
Westlake High Madima Kayumba mkayumba@ccboe.com
Gwynn STAY Erin Cusmano ecusmano@ccboe.com
Gwynn Behavior Specialist Dan Madden dmadden@ccboe.com
Stethem Educational Center Tamika Parker tparker@ccboe.com


Useful Resources:
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
Emotional Adjustment Program
Children & Depression
Managing Children’s Anxiety
Self Injury
Good Social Skills